Practical Rom 9:31-39

Standard

When the staunch believer John Chrysostom was brought before the Roman Emperor in the fifith century and threatened with banishment for his faith, he replied,
“Thou canst no banish me, for this world is my Father’s house”

“But I will slay thee,” said the Emperor.
“Nay, though canst not,” said the noble champion of the faith, ” for my life is hid with Christ in God.”

“I will take away thy treasures.”
“Nay, but thou canst not, for my treasure is in heaven and my heart is there.”

“But I will drive thee away from man and thou shalt have no friend left.”
“Nay, thou canst not, for I have a friend in heaven from whom thou canst not separate me! I defy thee; for there is nothing that thou canst do to hurt me!”

Rom 8:31-39 (Darby)
31What shall we then say to these things? If God [be] for us, who against us?
32He who, yea, has not spared his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not also with him grant us all things?
33Who shall bring an accusation against God’s elect? [It is] God who justifies:
34who is he that condemns? [It is] Christ who has died, but rather has been [also] raised up; who is also at the right hand of God; who also intercedes for us.
35Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? tribulation or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?
36According as it is written, For thy sake we are put to death all the day long; we have been reckoned as sheep for slaughter.
37But in all these things we more than conquer through him that has loved us.
38For I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers,
39nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which [is] in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Leave a Reply

